About Blended Learning


Blended Learning “Learning Future"

     Education technology has granted an advanced place in educational institutions at all levels; it helps to achieve the desired reform in its educational systems with its various components. The use of educational technology will play an important role in reducing the gap between social and economic realities on one hand and the outcomes of education and training systems on the other. This will be through the improvement of educational outputs and the provision of students and trainee's new knowledge and skills required in the age of knowledge economy. It also has a clear impact in expanding learning opportunities for a larger and more diverse population away from time or geographical boundaries.

 

Thus, blended learning, which includes a mix of direct face-to-face interactions and technology-mediated interactions between students, teachers and learning resources, has emerged in a short time among the world's leading higher education institutions and tops the list of recent trends in higher education from 2012 to today. Blended learning offers opportunities for higher education institutions to achieve the learning outcomes needed to meet the needs of a modern world of a world dominated by globalization and technology. UNESCO emphasizes that blended learning is a valuable approach to help promote learning and achieve the fourth sustainable development goal known as Education 2030: ensuring quality and equitable education and lifelong learning opportunities in all forms of formal and non-formal education. The adoption of blended education is increasingly seen in higher education institutions, and researchers expect that blended learning will become the new "traditional model" (Ross & Gage, 2006) or the "new norm" in the introduction of higher education courses (Norberg, 2011)


 

Blended Learning Model at Saudi Electronic University:

          Saudi Electronic University aims to provide quality educational services in a learner-centered environment. The University has adopted a flexible model of blended learning that meets the needs of learners in a knowledge age in a technological environment that utilizes ICTs, supports self and collaborative learning, and decrease the learner's isolation in the distance learning environment by combining direct education (face-to-face) Both simultaneous and asynchronous, in a blended model that combines their respective advantages.

The blended learning model at Saudi Electronic University achieves the ideal balance between both face-to-face and e-learning activities to provide students with a diverse and integrated learning experience that includes direct lectures, simultaneous virtual lectures, and concurrent / asynchronous electronic activities through (Blackboard).

 

Global models of implementation blended learning in higher education institutions:

        The difference in the definition and classification of blended learning has resulted in a difference in the implementation of blended learning. Most institutions adopt the Online Learning Consortium definition according to the Online Learning Consortium, formerly known as the Sloan Consortium -a professional organization specializing in e learning for undergraduates-, which replace about "30% to 80% of face-to-face learning time with online activities in a planned and highly educational manner. Several examples of blended learning implementation have been summarized as follows:​



10-en.jpg

1. Supplied Face-to-Face Model

         This model is the closest to the traditional model and is based on the principle that direct education is the basic method, where the bulk of the course is delivered through face-to-face lectures while electronic elements are used in the classroom or remotely when needed to support students in order to complete certain tasks.

​​​​



20-en.jpg
 

2. Enriched Virtual Model 

           In contrast to the technology-supported direct-to-face model, virtual distance learning is the foundation of this model. All expected activities occur in an electronic learning environment. These include peer-to-peer learning, reading, Communication and discussion in this form is conducted via electronic channels. Traditional classroom classes are not eliminated in this model. Additional lectures / sessions may be used on campus to provide additional support such as workshops.


30-en.jpg
 

 

3. Flex model

         In this model, learning is self-directed by students in an electronic environment where content and educational activities are provided. The student has a high degree of control over the learning process, where he / she can learn according to his / her own pace, and staff provide on-campus support and guidance Such as small study groups, individual lessons, etc., in a flexible framework that meets the needs of students as they progress in curriculum and learning content

​​

401-en.jpg
 

​​4. Selective Model A La Carte Model

 

        This module enables students to register for courses offered online. In addition to the registration of traditional courses offered on campus, which gives students greater flexibility to design their schedules. A selective model is an appropriate option when the university can not offer specific learning opportunities or to study electives​

5. Rotation Model

     This model includes a table that compels students to rotate learning methods on a regular basis and may include students' rotation between face-to-face and online learning. The common feature of this pattern is regular scheduling, in which both online and direct learning - to face) sequentially; either to reinforce each other, or to widen the horizons of one or both. Several models have been formed from this model:

  • Start and end model.
  • Start model middle end.
  • Reverse class model.
  • Week on / week off model
  • Inside-Out Blended Learning
  • Model Outside-In Blended Learning

 

Most commonly used in education:



50-en.jpg
 
​​

5.1. Lab Rotation Model

     The lab model includes a table that requires students to rotate between the computer labs and the classroom according to a specific schedule. The teacher cooperates in this model with other specialists in providing support and guidance to students as they progress in the performance of their activities.

 




60-en.jpg 


5.2. ​Flipped Classroom Model​

 

     The mechanism of this model depends on changing the traditional roles of learning by preparing the lesson through videos, audio files or other media, for students to see online at home or anywhere else before attending the lesson. While the lecture time is devoted to discussions, projects and exercises.​




​Benefits of blended learning

The following are the most important potential benefits of blended learning that taken from literature:

  • To enrich both the students educational experience and learning outcomes.

  • Achieve students' aspirations for maximum benefit of technology, as well as develop new skills that will qualify them for labor market in (The Global Networked Environment).

  • Meet the individual's needs, learning style and personal agenda.

  • Motivates the development of self-learning skills.

  • Develops faculty members' skills and level of knowledge in order to transform and develop the teaching process.

  • Strengthen the links between the classroom and the real world.

  • Enhances the accessibility and flexibility of access to study resources and activities, especially for people with work, family or geographic difficulties.

  • Helps to reduce the cost of delivering education and optimize the use of physical and virtual resources.

  • Increase the level of competition in building a new student market, thanks to innovation in the implementation of study programs​

عن التعلم المدمج


​التعلم المدمج "مستقبل التعليم"

        لقد أصبحت تكنولوجيا التعليم تتبوأ مكانة متقدمة في مؤسسات التعليم بمختلف مستوياتها؛ فهي وسيلة إحداث الإصلاح المنشود في أنظمتها التعليمية بعناصرها المختلفة. فاستخدامها سيلعب دورًا هامًا في تقليص الفجوة القائمة بين الواقع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي من جهة، ونتائج أنظمة التعليم والتدريب من جهة أخرى. وذلك من خلال تجويد المخرجات التعليمية وإكساب الطلبة والمتدربين المعارف والمهارات الجديدة المطلوبة في عصر اقتصاد المعرفة، كما أن لها أثرًا  واضحًا في توسيع فرص التعلّم لعدد أكبر و أكثر تنوعًا من السكان بعيدًا عن الحدود الزمنية أو الجغرافية.

لذلك برز التعلم المدمج والذي يتضمن مزيجًا متكاملًا من التفاعلات المباشرة – وجهًا لوجه – والتفاعلات التي تتوسطها التكنولوجيا بين الطلبة والمعلمين وموارد التعلم، لينتشر في وقت وجيز بين مؤسسات التعليم العالي الرائدة عالميًا، ويتصدر قائمة الاتجاهات الحديثة في التعليم العالي منذ عام  2012م  وحتى اليوم، حيث يوفر التعلم المدمج فرصًا لمؤسسات التعليم العالي من أجل تحقيق مخرجات التعلم اللازمة لتلبية احتياجات العصر الحديث لعالم تسيطر عليه العولمة والتقنية.  وتؤكد منظمة اليونسكو على أن التعلم المدمج  يعد منهجًا قيمًا للمساعدة في تعزيز التعلم ويحقق هدف التنمية المستدامة الرابع المعروف باسم التعليم 2030، وهو ضمان التعليم الجيد والمنصف وفرص التعلم مدى الحياة في جميع أشكال التعليم الرسمي وغير الرسمي. ومن الملاحظ تزايد اعتماد التعليم المدمج في مؤسسات التعليم العالي، ويتوقع الباحثون أن التعلم المدمج سيصبح "النموذج التقليدي الجديد" (Ross & Gage، 2006) أو "الوضع الطبيعي الجديد" في تقديم مقررات التعليم العالي ( Moskal , 2011)

 

نموذج التعلم المدمج بالجامعة السعودية الإلكترونية:

     

        تهدف الجامعة السعودية الإلكترونية لتقديم خدمات تعليمية عالية الجودة في بيئة تتمركز حول المتعلم. لذلك تبنّت الجامعة نموذج للتعلم المدمج يتميز بالمرونة ويلبي حاجة المتعلمين في عصر المعرفة في بيئة تقنية توظف تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وتدعم التعلم الذاتي والتعاوني وتحد من العزلة التي يشعر بها المتعلم في بيئة التعلم عن بعد؛ من خلال المزج بين  التعليم المباشر (وجهًا-لوجه) والتعلم عبر الإنترنت سواءً المتزامن أو غير المتزامن، في نموذج متكامل يجمع  مزايا كل منهما.

يحقق نموذج التعليم المدمج بالجامعة السعودية التوازن المثالي بين كل من الأنشطة المباشرة "وجهًا لوجه" والأنشطة الإلكترونية بهدف تزويد الطلبة بتجربة تعليمية متنوعة ومتكاملة تشتمل على المحاضرات المباشرة، والمحاضرات الافتراضية المتزامنة، والأنشطة الإلكترونية "المتزامنة/غير المتزامنة" من خلال المنصة التعليمية (البلاك بورد). 

 

نماذج التعلم المدمج في مؤسسات التعليم العالي عالميًا:

        الاختلاف في تعريف وتصنيف التعلم المدمج نتج عنه ظهور اختلاف في تنفيذ التعلم المدمج في  المؤسسات التعليمية، تتبنى معظم المؤسسات التعليمة تعريف التعلم المدمج  وفقًا لمنظمة  (Online Learning Consortium) المعروفة سابقًا باسم "سلون كونسورتيوم" -وهي منظمة مهنية متخصصة في التعلم الإلكتروني للمرحلة الجامعية–  بأنه" استبدال ما بين 30٪ إلى 80٪ من وقت من التعلم وجهً​ا لوجه بأنشطة عبر الإنترنت بطريقة مخطط لها وذات قيمة تعليمية كبيرة"، وقد ظهرت عدة نماذج لتنفيذ التعلم المدمج تتلخص في التالي:


 

1.      نموذج التعليم المباشر (وجهًا -لوجه) المدعم Supplemented Face-to-Face Model

        يعتبر هذا النموذج هو الأقرب إلى النموذج التقليدي ويقوم على مبدأ أن التعليم المباشر هو الأسلوب الأساسي حيث يقدم الجزء الأكبر من المقرر من خلال المحاضرات المباشرة وجهًا لوجه بينما تستخدم العناصر الإلكترونية داخل القاعة الدراسية أو عن بعد عند الحاجة لدعم الطلبة من أجل إتمام مهام معينة.


 

​​
10.jpg

2.      نموذج التعلم الافتراضي المكثف Enriched Virtual Model

        على العكس من نموذج التعليم المباشر (وجهًا -لوجه) المدعم بالتكنولوجيا، فإن التعلم الافتراضي عن بعد هو الأساس في هذا النموذج، وتحدث جميع الأنشطة المتوقعة في بيئة تعليمية إلكترونية، حيث تشمل هذه الأنشطة التعلم بمساعدة الأقران والقراءة والنشاط العملي والتعليم الموجه من قبل المعلم، ويتم التواصل والنقاش في هذا النموذج عبر القنوات الإلكترونية. ولا تلغى الفصول التقليدية المباشرة في هذا النموذج فقد تستخدم المحاضرات/الجلسات الإضافية داخل الحرم الجامعي من أجل تقديم دعم إضافي كإقامة ورشات عمل.​

20.jpg

3.      النموذج المرن Flex Model

        في هذا النموذج، يكون التعلم موجه ذاتيًا من الطلبة في بيئة إلكترونية يتم من خلالها تقديم المحتوى والأنشطة التعليمية ، ويمتلك الطالب في هذا النموذج درجة عالية من التحكم في عملية التعلم  حيث يمكنه التعلم حسب الوتيرة التي يحددها لنفسه ، ويقدم طاقم التدريس الدعم والإرشاد داخل الحرم الجامعي مثل :المجموعات الدراسية الصغيرة أو الدروس الفردية وغيرها ، في إطار مرن يلبي احتياجات الطلبة أثناء تقدمهم في المنهج و​المحتوى التعلمي.​​

30.jpg​​

4.       النموذج الانتقائي A La Carte Model  

        يمكن هذ النموذج الطلبة من التسجيل في مقررات تقدم عبر الإنترنت . بالإضافة إلى تسجيل المقررات التقليدية التي تقدم داخل الحرم الجامعي، الأمر الذي يعطي للطلبة مستوى أكبر من المرونة لتصميم جداولهم. ويعد النموذج الانتقائي خيارًا مناسبًا عندما لا تستطيع الجامعة تقديم فرص تعلمية معينة أو لدراسة المواد الاختيارية​.

401.jpg

5.      النموذج المتناوب Rotation model

        ​يتضمن النموذج المتناوب جدولًا يلزم الطلبة بالتناوب على أساليب التعلم بصفة منتظمة وقد يشمل تناوب الطلبة بين التعليم المباشر (وجهًا لوجه) و التعلم عبر الإنترنت  والسمة المشتركة لأنماط هذا النموذج هي الجدولة المنتظمة، والتي يستخدم فيها كلًا من عناصر التعلم عبر الإنترنت و التعليم المباشر (وجهًا - لوجه) على نحو متسلسل؛  إما لتعزيز بعضهما البعض، أو لتوسيع أفاق أحدهما أو كلاهما. وقد تشكلت من هذا النموذج عدة نماذج:​ 

  • نموذج البداية والنهاية.          
  • نموذج البداية الوسط النهاية
  • نموذج الصف المعكوس.  
  • نموذج week on/ week off   
  • نموذج Inside-Out Blended Learning
  • نموذج Outside-In Blended Learning

 

أشهرها استخدامًا في مجال التعليم:​​​​​​

5.1  نموذج  التناوب على المعامل Lab Rotation Model

     يتضمن نموذج المعامل جدولًا يلزم الطلبة بالتناوب بين معامل الحاسب  والقاعة الدراسية وفق جدول محدد، ويتعاون المعلم في هذا النموذج مع المختصين الآخرين في تقديم الدعم والإرشاد للطلبة أثناء تقدمهم في أداء أنشطتهم.​​

50.jpg

5.2 نموذج الفصل المعكوس Flipped Classroom Model

        تعتمد آلية هذا النموذج على تغيير الأدوار التقليدية للتعلم بإعداد الدرس عن طريق مقاطع فيديو أو ملفات صوتية أو غيرها من الوسائط، ليطلع عليها الطلاب عبر الإنترنت في منازلهم أو في أي مكان آخر قبل حضور الدرس. في حين يُخصص وقت المحاضرة للمناقشات والمشاريع والتدريبات.​

60.jpg

فوائد ومزايا التعلم المدمج

فيما يلي أبرز الفوائد المحتملة للتعلم المدمج و المستمدة من الأدبيات:

  •  إثراء كلًا من التجربة التعليمية للطلبة و مخرجات التعلم.
  •  تحقيق تطلعات الطلبة في الاستفادة المثلى من التكنولوجيا، بالإضافة إلى تنمية مهارات جديدة  لديهم تؤهلهم لسوق العمل في البيئة العالميّة الشبكيّة (The Global Networked Environment) .
  • تلبية احتياجات الفرد الشخصية و أسلوب تعلمه و جدول أعماله.
  • يحفز على تطوير مهارات التعلم الذاتي .
  • ينمي كلًا من مهارات أعضاء هيئة التدريس  ومستوى المعرفة لديهم وذلك من أجل تحويل و تطوير عملية التدريس.
  • تقوية الروابط بين الصف الدراسي و العالم الحقيقي.
  •  يعزز ملائمة و مرونة سبل الوصول إلى مصادر وأنشطة المقرر الدراسي خاصة للأشخاص الذين يواجهون صعوبات تتعلق بالعمل أو العائلة أو البعد الجغرافي.
  • يساعد على تقليل تكاليف إيصال التعليم  وتحقيق الاستفادة المثلى من المصادر المادية و الافتراضية.
  • زيادة مستوى المنافسة في بناء سوق طلبة جديد وذلك بفضل الابتكار  في تنفيذ البرامج الدراسية.