College of Science and Theoretical Studies

College of Science and Theoretical Studies

Introduction

The program of Translation Technologies is designed to prepare students of English language and Translation to become able to handle translation tasks benefiting from available digital technologies and applications. Having this unique training, the program fills a gap in the area, as there is no such a program in the gulf or the Arab world.

The Master of Translation Technologies program contains 12 courses, three academic hours for each course, and a total of 36 academic hours distributed over four semesters.
General requirements: 33 academic hours
College requirements: none
Department requirements: none
Special Topics and Research: 3 credit hours
The language of instruction in the program is English.

Coding ​ Course Name Credit Hours Prerequisite​
General Core (mandatory)
TRA500 Research and Writing at the Graduate Level 3 -
TRA510 Theory and Practice of Translation 3 -
TRA520 Theory and Practice of Terminology 3 -
TRA540 Software Localization 3 TRA520
TRA550 Technology in Translation 3 TRA500, TRA520
TRA560 Advanced Simultaneous Interpretation 3 TRA510
TRA600 Editing for Translators 3 TRA550
TRA610 Website and Social Media Translation 3 TRA550, TRA560
TRA620 Project Management in Translation and Localization 3 TRA540, TRA550
TRA650 Audio Visual Translation: Subtitles and Dubbing 3 TRA600, TRA610
TRA660 Advanced Localization 3 TRA620
Special Topics & Research
TRA699 Research Project 3 TRA600, TRA610, TRA620
​ credit(3) TRA500 ​ Research and Writing at the Graduate Level

This course is to help students entering graduate-level programs to develop an awareness of current and effective research and writing practices with the goal of implementing and synthesizing such practices into their writing and research projects. Students will learn what constitutes graduate-level writing and research as well as how to communicate with colleagues in online professional forums. Students will also learn to effectively integrate writing and research skills into the writing projects they will pursue throughout their graduate-level programs.

​ credit(3) TRA510 ​ Theory and Practice of Translation

This course introduces the basic concepts and the general conceptual framework for analyzing and applying translation as a process and product. Subjects include translation adequacy and equivalence, text coherence between source and target text, translation as a decision-making process, and linguistic and extralinguistic factors in translation.

​ credit(3) TRA520 ​ Theory and Practice of Terminology

This course provides students with the basic principles and methods of contemporary terminology and documentation in translation. Various methodologies for terminological research are also examined, with emphasis on the application of terminology to translation. Students explore representative aspects of research and documentation, traditional methods of recording and storing terminology, the structure of database records, and terminology management systems. This course includes practical applications of terminology work including advanced Internet research for translation work, terminology mining exercises, construction of terminology databases, and management of those databases.

​ credit(3) TRA540 ​ Software Localization

This practical course advances the student's knowledge of the concepts of localization work and includes software and mobile localization. It explores how to translate and localize a website, paying special attention to cultural adaptation. In addition, it explains the differences between translation, localization, and internationalization. By the end of the course, students will complete a localization task and will conduct numerous localization activities. The course also covers the various technical difficulties that may occur, such as extracting translatable text strings from the source code, predefined spaces, shortcuts, and terminology. Finally, students will utilize a variety of computer-assisted translation (CAT) tools such as the SDL Trados suite as well as other key commercial and non-commercial tools (cloud-based) used in localization projects or activities to process either text-based or audiovisual content-based types of files and documents.

​ credit(3) TRA550 ​ Technology in Translation

This course covers the various translation software tools that aid and support the translation process including translation memory programs and terminology management software. The course also aids students in applying new advances in machine translation and in understanding how this technology can be used during the translation process. It covers the application and usage of translation technologies in not only processing text-based translations but also audio and video files. Finally, the course will introduce students to other contexts where translators need to integrate technology to enhance their productivity and income: freelancing using online platforms as well as managing translation projects using virtual environments to engage in online and remote translation activities with various clients at the national regional and international levels.

​ credit(3) TRA560 ​ Advanced Simultaneous Interpretation

Students will develop their translating and interpreting skills to learn and apply simultaneous interpretation techniques to a variety of topics and settings and reach the standards of live conference interpretation level. Using interpreting technologies and tools to practice short, long memory as well as techniques of coping and performing under pressure in order to deliver communicative and clear interpreting outputs with a clear voice. The interpreting student will master technical, linguistics, complex cognitive and psychological skills to manage interpreting assignments either alone or with a teammate in a booth and be able to face its emerging challenging including unexpected surprising situations in the conference room.

​ credit(3) TRA600 ​ Editing for Translators

In this course, students are equipped to edit, revise, and review translated documents in a professional context. Topics will include study of and practice in stylistic, structural, and content editing; quality assurance processes expected in professional-standard translating; a critical understanding of the role of the editor/reviser/proofreader and reviewer in a professional context; and of all stages of the editing and reviewing process. Students will be expected to edit translated documents.

​ credit(3) TRA610 ​ Website and Social Media Translation

This course covers the translation of social media content which includes posts on Twitter, Instagram, Linkedin, and Facebook, as well as blogs and other platforms that fall within a shared social space. Students will examine the unique cultural and socio-political aspects behind the translations of the posts and how to apply basic concepts of translation best practices especially as it relates to the Arabic language. Students will conduct translations of various types of social media posts.

​ credit(3) TRA620 ​ Project Management in Translation and Localization

This course provides students with the body of knowledge in project management in the field of language industry projects (translation and localization). Topics covered include the nature of the language industry; linguistics; work breakdown patterns in the language industry, including language industry tasks and activities; planning; costing; insurance of the language industry; quality assurance; and the use of project management software.

​ credit(3) TRA650 ​ Audio Visual Translation: Subtitles and Dubbing

This course provides the essential tools for producing translations of videos through the techniques of subtitling and dubbing. It also presents the best practices in the field for high-quality audiovisual translations. The course includes practical application and students will subtitle and caption multiple real-life videos using open source tools operating in both online and offline modes.

​ credit(3) TRA660 ​ Advanced Localization

This advanced localization course will analyze the features, stages, and other aspects related to the localization process of these products as well as the tools which are often used in this process. Students will be introduced to and review the number of Translation Management Systems (TMS) available; they will facilitate the process of collecting the content to be sent to translators and reviewed, then integrated back into the mobile app. Prerequisite: Software Localization.

​ credit(3) TRA699 ​ Research Project

In this course students advance their knowledge of research by formulating an advanced research project in an area of applied Translation Studies such as terminology, translation technologies, editing and quality assurance or other topics. The students will focus on a topic, identify research questions and methodology, and develop a practice-oriented or a research-oriented thesis proposal. At the end of the course, students will present their thesis proposal and present their research paper for publication. Prerequisite: Project Management in Translation and Localization.

To view the study plan files

To show the study plan Click Here

كلية العلوم والدراسات النظرية

كلية العلوم والدراسات النظرية

مقدمة

      يقدم البرنامج في أسلوب جديد من أساليب تقديم المعرفة، معتمد على أسلوب التعلم المدمج الذي يدمج بين عناصر من التعليم المباشر وجهًا لوجه، والتعلم عبر وسائل التقنية الحديثة.
ويهدف البرنامج إلى الموازنة بين دراسات الترجمة النظرية وتقنيات الترجمة التطبيقية، وتطوير المهارات الأكاديمية والمهنية، وإعداد الطلاب لمهنة الترجمة أو الدراسات المستمرة، وتطوير القدرة الاستيعابية المبنية على الممارسة العملية، وتأهيل الطلاب للعمل في مواقع وظيفية تتطلب القدرة على الترجمة المكتوبة، مثل القانون والعلوم والتقنية والأدب والثقافة، والتواصل بين الثقافات والنشر، في القطاع الحكومي والخاص.

  • يحتوي برنامج ماجستير تقنيات الترجمة على 12 مقرر دراسي بواقع ثلاث ساعات أكاديمية لكل مقرر وبإجمالي عدد ساعات 36 ساعة أكاديمية موزعة على أربعة فصول دراسية.
    • المتطلبات العامة: 33 ساعة أكاديمية
    • متطلبات الكلية: لا يوجد
    • متطلبات القسم: لا يوجد
    • الموضوعات الخاصة والبحث: 3 ساعات أكاديمية
  • لغة التدريس في البرنامج هي اللغة الإنجليزية.

 

رمز المقرر ​ اسم المقرر​ الساعات المعتمدة المتطلبات السابقة
المتطلبات العامة (إلزامية)
ترج 500 البحث والكتابة على مستوى الدراسات العليا 3 -
ترج 510 نظرية وتطبيق الترجمة 3 -
ترج 520 نظرية وتطبيق المصطلحات 3 -
ترج 540 توطين البرامج 3 ترج 520
ترج 550 التقنية في الترجمة 3 ترج 500، ترج 520
ترج 560 الترجمة الفورية المتقدمة 3 ترج 510
ترج 600 تحرير الترجمة 3 ترج 550
ترج 610 ترجمة المواقع ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي 3 ترج 550، ترج 560
ترج 620 إدارة المشاريع في الترجمة والتوطين 3 ترج 540، ترج 550
ترج 650 الترجمة السمعية والبصرية: السترتجة والدبلجة 3 ترج 600، ترج 610
ترج 660 التوطين المتقدم 3 ترج 620
الموضوعات الخاصة والبحث
ترج 699 مشروع البحث 3 ترج 600، ترج 610، ترج 620
​ credit(3) ترج 500 ​ البحث والكتابة على مستوى الدراسات العليا

 

يساعد هذا المقرر الطلاب في مستوى الدراسات العليا على تطوير الوعي بالتطبيقات الحالية والفعالة للبحث والكتابة بهدف تطبيقيها ودمجها في الكتابة ومشاريع البحث. سيتعلم الطلاب مكونات الكتابة على مستوى الدراسات العليا والبحوث، وكذلك كيفية التواصل مع الزملاء في المنتديات المهنية على الانترنت. وسيتعلم الطلاب أيضا دمج الكتابة والمهارات البحثية بفعالية في كتابة المشاريع طوال مسيرتهم في الدراسات العليا.

​ credit(3) ترج 510 ​ نظرية وتطبيق الترجمة

هذا المقرر يقدم المفاهيم الأساسية والإطار المفاهيمي العام لتحليل وتطبيق الترجمة كعملية ومنتج. وتشمل الموضوعات ملائمة الترجمة والتكافؤ والترابط بين النص المصدر والنص الهدف، والترجمة بوصفها عملية صنع قرار، والعوامل اللغوية والعوامل الخارجة عن نطاق اللغة في الترجمة.

​ credit(3) ترج 520 ​ نظرية وتطبيق المصطلحات

هذا المقرر يزود الطلاب بمبادئ وطرق المصطلحات المعاصرة والتوثيق في الترجمة. عدد من الطرق المنهجية لبحث المصطلحات اختبرت مع التركيز على تطبيق المصطلحات في الترجمة. يكتشف الطلاب الجوانب التمثيلية للأبحاث والتوثيق والطرق التقليدية لتسجيل وتخزين المصطلحات، وهيكل سجلات قاعدة البيانات، ونظم إدارة المصطلحات.  هذا المقرر يحتوي على تطبيقات عملية لعمل المصطلحات بما في ذلك بحث الانترنت المتقدم للترجمة، وتمارين التنقيب عن المصطلحات، وبناء قواعد بيانات المصطلحات وإدارتها.

​ credit(3) ترج 540 ​ توطين البرامج

يطور هذا المقرر العملي معرفة الطالب بمفاهيم عمل التوطين ويشمل توطين البرامج وبرامج الهاتف المحمول. يستكشف المقرر كيفية ترجمة وتوطين المواقع مع تركيز خاص على التكييف الثقافي. أيضا يشرح المقرر الفروقات بين الترجمة والتوطين والتدويل. بنهاية المقرر، سيقوم الطلاب بإكمال مهمة التوطين وسيقومون بالعديد من أنشطة التوطين. كما يغطي هذا المقرر مختلف الصعوبات التقنية التي قد تحدث، مثل استخراج سلاسل النص القابلة للترجمة من التعليمات البرمجية من المصدر، والمسافات المحددة.

​ credit(3) ترج 550 ​ التقنية في الترجمة

يغطي هذا المقرر أدوات برامج الترجمة المختلفة التي تساعد وتدعم عملية الترجمة بما في ذلك برامج ذاكرة الترجمة وإدارة المصطلحات. كما يساعد المقرر الطلاب على تطبيق التطورات الجديدة في الترجمة الآلية وفي فهم كيفية استخدام هذه التقنية أثناء عملية الترجمة. ويغطي هذا المقرر أيضا تطبيق واستخدام تقنيات الترجمة ليس فقط في معالجة الترجمات النصية فحسب، بل أيضا الملفات السمعية والبصرية. وأخيراً، سوف يعرف المقرر الطلاب على سياقات أخرى حيث يحتاج المترجمون إلى دمج التكنولوجيا لتعزيز إنتاجيتهم ودخلهم بالعمل على نحو حر باستخدام منصات إلكترونية بالإضافة إلى إدارة مشاريع الترجمة باستخدام بيئات افتراضية للمشاركة في أنشطة الترجمة عبر الإنترنت والترجمة عن بعد مع مختلف العملاء على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي.

​ credit(3) ترج 560 ​ الترجمة الفورية المتقدمة

سيقوم الطلاب بتطوير مهاراتهم في الترجمة التحريرية والفورية لتعلم وتطبيق تقنيات الترجمة الفورية لمجموعة متنوعة من الموضوعات والإعدادات والوصول إلى معايير الترجمة الفورية للمؤتمرات. وسيستخدم الطلاب تقنيات وأدوات الترجمة للتدرب على الذاكرة القصيرة والطويلة وكذلك تقنيات التأقلم والأداء تحت الضغط من أجل تقديم مخرجات ترجمة فورية واضحة واتصالية وبصوت واضح. سيقوم طالب الترجمة الفورية بإتقان المهارات التقنية واللغوية والمعرفية والنفسية المعقدة لإدارة مهام الترجمة إما بمفرده أو مع زميله في الفريق المشارك في مقصورة الترجمة ويكون قادرًا على مواجهة التحديات بما في ذلك المواقف المفاجئة وغير المتوقعة في قاعة المؤتمرات.

​ credit(3) ترج 600 ​ تحرير الترجمة

 يهدف هذا المقرر إلى أن يجهز الطالب لتحرير ومراجعة وتنقيح المستندات المترجمة في سياق مهني. وتتضمن الموضوعات دراسة وممارسة تحرير الأسلوب والشكل والمحتوى للمستندات وعمليات ضمان الجودة المتوقعة في عملية الترجمة في بيئة مهنية وفهم نقدي لدور المحرر والمراجع والمدقق اللغوي والمنقح في سياق مهني وجميع مراحل عملية التحرير والمراجعة.

​ credit(3) ترج 610 ​ ترجمة المواقع ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي

 يهدف هذا المقرر على تدريب الطالب على ترجمة محتوى مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التي تتضمن منشورات على تويتر وإنستغرام ولينكدلن وفيسبوك، بالإضافة إلى المدونات وغيرها من المنصات التي تشكل مساحة اجتماعية مشتركة. وسيقوم الطالب بدراسة الجوانب الثقافية والاجتماعية والسياسية الفريدة وراء ترجمة المنشورات وكيفية تطبيق المفاهيم الأساسية لأفضل ممارسات الترجمة، خاصة فيما يتعلق باللغة العربية. وسيقوم الطالب بإجراء ترجمات لأنواع مختلفة من منشورات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي.

​ credit(3) ترج 620 ​ إدارة المشاريع في الترجمة والتوطين

يهدف هذا المقرر على تزويد الطالب بالمهارات اللازمة في إدارة المشاريع في مجال مشاريع صناعة اللغة (الترجمة والتوطين). وتشمل الموضوعات التي يتم تناولها طبيعة صناعة اللغة واللغويات، وأنماط تقسيم العمل في صناعة اللغة، بما في ذلك مهام وأنشطة صناعة اللغة والتخطيط والتكلفة وتأمين صناعة اللغة وضمان الجودة واستخدام برامج إدارة المشاريع.

​ credit(3) ترج 650 ​ الترجمة السمعية والبصرية: السترتجة والدبلجة

يهدف هذا المقرر على تدريب الطالب على ترجمة مقاطع فيديو من خلال تقنيات السترجة والدبلجة وتزويده بأفضل الممارسات في مجال الترجمة السمعية والبصرية عالية الجودة. ويتضمن المقرر تطبيقاً عملياً حيث يقوم الطالب بترجمة عدد من مقاطع فيديو حقيقية من خلال السترجة والتعليقات التوضيحية وباستخدام أدوات مفتوحة المصدر تعمل سواء عبر توفر الإنترنت أوعدمه.

​ credit(3) ترج 660 ​ التوطين المتقدم

يهدف هذا المقرر على تزويد الطالب بمهارات تحليل الميزات والمراحل والجوانب الأخرى المتعلقة بعملية توطين المنتجات بالإضافة إلى الأدوات التي غالبًا ما تستخدم في هذه العملية. وسيستخدم الطالب عدد من أنظمة إدارة الترجمة المتاحة ويسهل عملية جمع المحتوى لإرساله إلى المترجمين ومراجعته، ثم دمجه مرة أخرى في تطبيق الهاتف المحمول.

​ credit(3) ترج 699 ​ مشروع البحث

يهدف هذا المقرر على صقل الطالب بمهارات البحث من خلال عمل مشروع بحثي متقدم في مجال دراسات الترجمة التطبيقية مثل المصطلحات وتقنيات الترجمة والتحرير وضمان الجودة أو موضوعات أخرى. وسيركز الطالب على موضوع ما ويحدد أسئلة البحث ومنهجيته ويعد مقترح أطروحة ذات توجه عملي أو بحثي. وسيقدم الطالب مقترح أطروحته وورقته البحثية للنشر في نهاية الفصل الدراسي.

للاطلاع على ملفات الخطة الدراسية

للاطلاع على الخطة الدراسية اضغط هنا

Chat Bot
المساعد الذكي